Thinking of You: May 5, 2012 {the Food Edition}

Tegu Toys | Debtor to Grace (love these even more now!)

The Everyday Question of Motherhood | Desiring God

Black-or-White Thinkers and their Opposites | CCEF (can you guess which one I am?!)

Coping with Email Overload | Harvard Business Review (perhaps I should reconsider upgrading to a smart phone this week?)

Since I just had a baby, my dear friends and family have been so kind and generous to provide meals for us.  Obviously, they must have read this article I linked to a few weeks ago.  Well, please don’t tell them, but since they’ve been doing all the “heavy-lifting” of cooking healthful, nutritious, well-balanced dinners for us, . . . I’ve been using my free time to bake a ridiculous amount of sweets! So if you’ll keep my secret, then I’ll share with you all the insanely good recipes that are now filling the space in my belly recently vacated by sweet Macyn. ;-)

Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies (worth the price of the book!!!) and Coffeecake French Toast and Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake and Coconut Banana Cream Pie from Joy the Baker Cookbook  | Joy the Baker (Truth be told, I bought this book just because of the subtitle:  “a celebration of butter and sugar!”  haha!)

Peanut Butter Hot Fudge Sauce (original version or Americanized) | Nigella (except made with homemade sweetened condensed milk and bittersweet chocolate)

Walnut Chocolate Chip Blondies | Mel’s Kitchen Cafe

Strawberry Shortcake | King Arthur Flour (I plead the fifth . . . I may or may not have made a quadruple batch of these for the freezer, so fresh strawberry shortcake could be an option every.single.night!)

Monkey Muffins | Pioneer Woman

Now, I haven’t entirely gone overboard into an ocean of sugar.  I have made a few not-sweet things too that are worth sharing:

Ham, Pear, and White Cheddar Pizza | cranny + b (OTH LOVES sweet Sarah and her terrific blog! you should read her regularly, and check out her gorgeous etsy shop by the same name!)

Pork Chops with Apple Sauce | Pioneer Woman (my first postpartum dinner making experience:  this “easy” one-skillet meal took me 4 1/2 hours to make, between feedings and a crazy toddler and unexpected visitors and general household chaos!  By the time we sat down to eat [at 8:45pm!], I decided perhaps this season of life will require a new definition of “easy” meals! lol.)

Apple and Garbanzo Cake | I Breathe I’m Hungry (lots of protein and fiber, naturally gluten-free, and Nate actually liked it!  Thanks, Amy!)

White Chicken Enchiladas | Pioneer Woman

About Orange Tree Hill

We specialize in photography, catering, event planning, decor, graphic and interior design. We are locally based in the Hampton Roads area and would love to be apart of your next event. Please check out our facebook page and “Like” us! If you are interested in further information or to contact us for a booking, email us at orangetreehill@gmail.com. Thanks, looking forward to meeting you!

Posted on May 5, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. hi OTH! thanks so much for the cranny + b love! I have a funny story concerning the ham/pear pizza. We were visiting with my brother and his family recently and we had pizza night, so they asked me to make that pizza. My sister in law loved it but boy was everyone else quiet around the table! haha! Guess it might not be for everyone : ) But you’ll have to let me know if you love it : ) Congratulations on your new baby girl, Macyn– I’m thinking we should add a little girl around here sometime in the future : )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

