Breaking the Silence

I’m the silent partner.  I got my place in the company name, but for the past 8 months that’s all I’ve done.  Taken no part in management, unknown to customers, and leaving the responsibility of Orange Tree Hill entirely to Ondria.  She has faithfully served me during these sometimes overwhelming life circumstances and I am so [publicly] thankful for her and her partnership in life, not just professionally, here today.

But it’s a new year and I’m ready for the new opportunities it will hold!  Lots of “new” things today . . .


First of all, generous friends and fans of OTH, gave us (me!) a new KitchenAid Stand Mixer!  Now that I have one, I have no idea how I baked in bulk for so many years without it!  It’s professional grade, with a 6-quart mixing bowl, a giant 575-watt motor, and all-steel gears & transmission.  This thing can handle up to 14 C of flour!  [Obviously, I’m a geek when it comes to kitchen tools.]   First thing I made with it?  a triple batch of honey whole wheat rolls!  A.maz.ing.

So, our OTH blog isn’t so new anymore, but writing publicly is definitely new for me.  [I’m so nervous!]  My (boring!) posts won’t have as many gorgeous pictures, but hopefully I’ll be sharing here periodically in 2012.   Have any requests?  Maybe some of our favorite recipes or some new cooking technique I learn!

Lastly, two new cupcake orders today!  Sweet Lily had chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting on her birthday wish list . . . and she was waiting for me at the door when I delivered them.  Eager fans are the best part of OTH!  Check out pictures of her beautiful party (and all the chocolate-covered mouths! haha)! A new client (thanks for the referral, Christina!) ordered our strawberries and cream cupcakes to share with friends at her weekly visit to the beauty parlor.

Because it’s the way I was fearfully and wonderfully made, I’ll probably still be more “silent” than the other partner :-), but I think I’ll celebrate breaking my silence with [another!] cupcake!

Laura

About Orange Tree Hill

We specialize in photography, catering, event planning, decor, graphic and interior design. We are locally based in the Hampton Roads area and would love to be apart of your next event. Please check out our facebook page and “Like” us! If you are interested in further information or to contact us for a booking, email us at orangetreehill@gmail.com. Thanks, looking forward to meeting you!

Posted on January 14, 2012, in Laura, Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. YAY! Congrats on your kitchen aid. I can’t live without mine. Have lots of fun with it. Oh, and your pretzel style pizza rolls. That would something good to share! =)

  2. christa bohannon

    Yay!! I thought your post was quite ‘diverting’ as they in Jane Austen. So glad you finally spoke up! OTH fans love you and Ondria both! And we look forward to what God has for you and your business this year as you seek to glorify him through your giftings.

Leave a Reply

