HOLY HOTCAKES! The Best Oatmeal Cookies and a Giveaway!

We just returned from a visit to my husband’s family in his hometown, Clay Center, Kansas.  I’ll spare you all the details of the stomach virus, the teething, and the crazy-one-year-old-on-the-plane.

Instead, let’s talk about food!

First of all, how about a fun food fact for the day:  did you know that Kansas is in fact FLATTER THAN A PANCAKE?  Yes, that’s right!  If you could in fact find a Kansas-sized pancake (or a pancake-sized Kansas?) for comparison, the geology of Kansas is more flat than your average flapjack.  (Definitely more flat than the delicious Multi-grain Blueberry Yogurt Pancakes I had for dinner last night!)  That was free.  🙂

On a more serious note, I’d like to recommend a local restaurant (in case you’re ever in Clay Center–pop. 5000!).  The Kirby House in Abilene, a few towns over, is a restored 1885 mansion, serving traditional midwestern fare of steak, seafood, chicken, and pork in an elegant Victorian setting.

But don’t fret!  For all of you that don’t have plans to visit central Kansas any time soon, today we’re giving away an autographed copy of The Kirby House Cookbook!  It’s a unique combination of cookbook, home ec textbook, and history book, containing not only well written recipes, but fascinating information about Victorian life, customs, and meal time.  Intermingled within the recipe text are tips providing educational information to the novice, plus “A Special Touch” inserts providing elegant entertaining ideas.

I received a copy from my mother-in-law years ago (maybe my first Christmas “in the family”? I can’t remember.)   My favorite recipe is the Cinnamon-Sugar Oat Cookies (p. 154)–which I have renamed The Best Oatmeal Cookies–and am sharing with you below.  I do a lot of baking . . . and truthfully, I do a lot of eating!  So I don’t label these as “the best” without really meaning it!  They’re addictive!  Oh, and they freeze beautifully, so you can always have some on hand.  🙂

[Of course, I love anything with oatmeal and nuts (like this incredible–albeit time-consuming–Inside Out German Chocolate Cake!)  In fact, I can’t stop thinking about this Oatmeal Snack Cake . . . and if my kitchen counter didn’t already have Cinnamon Roll Cake and Cinnamon Streusel Coffeecake and now, 10 dozen Oatmeal Cookies waiting to be eaten, I’d probably go make it now!]

But several of the recipes in this book make a regular appearance in my repertoire:  Mexican Chicken with Calico Corn Salsa (p. 92)–I make this salsa every time we have Mexican; Sweet Potato Souffle (p.111); Apple Walnut Loaf with Maple Cream Glaze (p.117); and Plantation Pecan Pie (p.165)–how can something SO easy be SO amazing?!

So would you like a chance to win this fantastic autographed cookbook?    Here’s what to do . . .

For one entry: Simply leave a comment on this post.

For a second chance to win: “Follow” our blog via email (the button is in the lower right hand of your screen) or a Reader and leave a second comment letting us know you’ve done so.

For one last chance to win: “Like” Orange Tree Hill on Facebook and leave a comment letting us know.

The giveaway will be open through Sunday, February 12, 2012, at midnight PST and is open only to readers over the age of 18 and those living in the lower 48 states.  A winner will be randomly chosen and announced on Monday, February 13, 2012.  Good luck!

But wait!  EVERYONE‘s a winner because you all get this recipe for THE BEST Oatmeal Cookies Ever!

The Best Oatmeal Cookies Ever

1 1/4 C (10 oz) dark brown sugar, packed
1/2 C shortening
1/2 C butter, softened
1/2 C granulated sugar (3.5 oz)
2 large eggs
2 T milk
1 T vanilla
1 3/4 C (7.75 oz) all-purpose flour
1 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
1 1/2 t cinnamon
2 1/2 C uncooked, quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats
1 1/2 C coarsely chopped toasted nuts
10 oz cinnamon chips
Extra granulated sugar for rolling

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
In a large mixing bowl, combine brown sugar, shortening, butter, and granulated sugar.  Beat at medium speed of an electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Add eggs (one at a time), milk, and vanilla.  Beat at medium speed until well blended.  Add flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Beat at low speed until a soft dough forms.  Stir in oats, nuts, and cinnamon chips.
Place extra granulated sugar in a shallow bowl.  Use a cookie scoop (I prefer a #50 disher) to dip out balls of dough and roll each in sugar.  Place balls about 2” apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 8 minutes.  Let cook for 1 minute before removing from cookie sheets.  Cool completely before storing.

Adapted from The Kirby House Cookbook

About Orange Tree Hill

We specialize in photography, catering, event planning, decor, graphic and interior design. We are locally based in the Hampton Roads area and would love to be apart of your next event. Please check out our facebook page and “Like” us! If you are interested in further information or to contact us for a booking, email us at orangetreehill@gmail.com. Thanks, looking forward to meeting you!

Posted on February 10, 2012, in Catering, Giveaways, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe. Orange Tree Hill is awesome!

  2. and I am following your blog, because I want to…

  3. These look so amazing I think I have to try them right away! Where can I find cinnamon chips?

  4. christa bohannon

    Wow, these really do look amazing! Thanks for yet another inspiring post. You may finally turn me into a baker! Until then, I’m always willing to taste test. 😉

  5. They look so good. Cookies are always a good thing .

  6. These really look great….you may find me on your doorstep in a minutes:)

  7. Thanks for a great recipe. I can’t wait to try it.

  8. I am commenting…because this cookbook looks amazing.

  9. I am commenting…because I liked you on Facebook. (and I really do like you!) 😉

  10. I am commenting…because I added your blog to my reader list!

  11. These cookies look great!! Would love to try all the recipes in the cookbook too!

  12. I subscribe to OTH via email!

  13. I also like OTH on FB 🙂

  14. OTH….love your blog!!

  15. Mmmm, sounds so yummy!! 🙂 Cute blog!

  1. Pingback: COOKBOOK GIVEAWAY! « orangetreehill

  2. Pingback: Thinking of You: March 17, 2012 « orangetreehill

Leave a Reply

